Able Danger Blog

Click here to order Triple Cross in paperback now

Thursday, December 15, 2005

Full text of letter from Gordon England

I typed this from a fax John in Weldon's office sent. If there are any typos they are mine:

December 13, 2005

The Honorable Curt Weldon
House of Representatives
Washington, DC 20515-6035

Congressman Weldon,

Thank you for your letter received on November 29th regarding participation of Department of Defense (DoD) personnel in hearings before the United States Congress regarding Able Danger. Secretary Rumsfeld has asked me to respond.

DoD has been consistent in its position to cooperate fully with appropriate committees of the Congress on the issue of Able Danger. If a request by a committee of jurisdiction is received, the Department is prepared to fully participate in either open or closed hearings on this matter, consistent with the need to protect national security information.

In our judgment, a closed hearing is preferable to better assure that classified information will not be inadvertently released, but we will work with the committees to arrive at an approach that is acceptable.

The Department has fully briefed the Armed Services and Intelligence committees, based on an extensive review of all information available to the Department. It is our understanding that the leadership of all four committees of jurisdiction were satisfied with the Department's efforts and declined to have hearings.

That notwithstanding, the Department remains committed to support further review of the Able Danger issue by appropriate committees of jurisdiction and will accordingly be pleased to participate in any resultant hearings requested.

Gordon England

UPDATE: Just as a reminder. Most of the members of the House Armed Services Committee signed Weldon's letter. The House Intelligence Committee was split down the middle. On the other hand, Weldon says everyone that he asked signed. As far as I know, neither chairman Hunter or Hoekstra signed it, but both have been supportive of Weldon. They might not have signed because then it might as well have been an official letter from their committee, but that's just a guess.

Members of the House Armed Services Committee

Those who signed Weldon's letter:

Curt Weldon, R-Pennsylvania
Joel Hefley, R-Colorado
John M. McHugh, R-New York
Terry Everett, R-Alabama
Roscoe G. Bartlett, R-Maryland
Howard P. "Buck" McKeon, R-California
John N. Hostettler, R-Indiana
Walter B. Jones, R-North Carolina
Jim Ryun, R-Kansas
Jim Gibbons, R-Nevada
Robin Hayes, R-North Carolina
Rob Simmons, R-Connecticut
W. Todd Akin, R-Missouri
J. Randy Forbes, R-Virginia
Joe Wilson, R-South Carolina
Frank A. LoBiondo, R-New Jersey
Jeb Bradley, R-New Hampshire
Michael Turner, R-Ohio
John Kline, R-Minnesota
candice S. Miller, R-Michigan
Trent Franks, R-Arizona
Bill Shuster, R-Pennsylvania
Joe Schwarz, R-Michigan
Cathy McMorris, R-Washington
Michael Conaway, R-Texas
Geoff Davis, R-Kentucky
Ike Skelton, D-Missouri, Ranking Member
John Spratt, D-South Carolina
Solomon P. Ortiz, D-Texas
Lane Evans, D-Illinois
Gene Taylor, D-Mississippi
Neil Abercrombie, D-Hawaii
Marty Meehan, D-Massachusetts
Silvestre Reyes, D-Texas
Adam Smith, D-Washington
Loretta Sanchez, D-California
Mike McIntyre, D-North Carolina
Ellen O. Tauscher, D-California
Robert A. Brady, D-Pennsylvania
Robert Andrews, D-New Jersey
Susan A. Davis, D-California
James R. Langevin, D-Rhode Island
Steve Israel, D-New York
Rick Larsen, D-Washington
Jim Cooper, D-Tennessee
Kendrick B. Meek, D-Florida
Madeleine Z. Bordallo, D-Guam
Mark Udall, D-Colorado
G. K. Butterfield, D-North Carolina
Cynthia McKinney, D-Georgia

Those who had not signed it yet:

Duncan Hunter, R-California, Chairman
Jim Saxton, R-New Jersey
Mac Thornberry, R-Texas
Ken Calvert, R-California
Jo Ann Davis, R-Virginia
Jeff Miller, R-Florida
Mike Rogers, R-Alabama
Thelma Drake, R-Virginia
Vic Snyder, D-Arkansas
Jim Marshall, D-Georgia
Tim Ryan, D-Ohio
Dan Boren, D-Oklahoma

Members of the House Select Intelligence Committee

Those who signed Weldon's letter:

Terry Everett, R-Alabama
Elton Gallegly, R-California
John McHugh, R-New York
Mike Rogers, R-Michigan
Rick Renzi, R-Arizona
Jane Harman, D-California
Alcee L. Hastings, D-Florida
Silvestre Reyes, D-Texas
Anna G. Eshoo, D-California
Rush D. Holt, D-New Jersey

Those who had not signed it yet:

Peter Hoekstra, R-Michigan
Ray LaHood, R-Illinois
Heather Wilson, R-New Mexico
Jo Ann Davis, R-Virginia
Mac Thornberry, R-Texas
Todd Tiahrt, R-Kansas
Leonard L. Boswell, D-Iowa
Robert E. (Bud) Cramer, Jr, D-Alabama
C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger, D-Maryland
John Tierney, D-Massachusetts